Love One Another

by Mark Moore

Last weekend I began my final sermon series in my church.

As I prepared my sermon, I came to the realization that having preached in the same church for eleven years I now had only eleven weeks left. That was a strange feeling.

One of the privileges of being a pastor in a church for a long time is that you can preach with patience. There is no rush to say everything all at once. You always have next week. And now, as the weeks quickly pass by, I understand that I won’t always have next week. This has caused me to really think about what matters most.

I roughly estimate that I’ve spent around 30,000 minutes preaching in my church over the years. Yes, thirty-thousand! I figure I have about 400 minutes left. That may still seem like a lot, but when you think about it’s really not. It’s less than a good night’s sleep.

My relationship with my church is special. I started this church; it’s the only church I’ve ever pastored; I’m the only pastor many in my church have ever had. We’ve all grown together. For some that meant learning how to be a Christian. For me it meant learning how to be a pastor. Sometimes we failed. Sometimes we succeeded. Always Jesus was faithful.

Because of the way I love my church, I’ve thought a lot about these final sermons. I’ve only got a little bit of time left and I want to say only what matters. I’ve taught on a lot of stuff through the years–some things more important than others–but in the end I only want to talk about the things that matter the most. So what are those things?

It seems to me that Jesus is the best person to go to in order to find the answer. So I prayerfully considered Jesus’ words to his disciples in John 13-16 and his prayer to the Father in John 17. The answer was obvious.

Love.

Love is the one thing that matters.

The Apostle Paul said it another way–to know only Jesus Christ and him crucified–which really is the same thing as saying love.

Love is the one thing that matters.

Jesus says it like this–greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends…you are my friends if you do what I command…this is my command: love each other as I have loved you.

Love is the one thing that matters.

When the Apostle John summarized everything he wanted to say about God, he simply said–God is love.

Love is the one thing that matters.

Far be it from me to depart from Jesus, Paul, or John, and decide that something else is more important than love. And so my final sermon series is all about love.

Here is a link to the first sermon in the series — What is Love?

I hope these sermons reveal how much you are loved and that in that realization you find yourself transformed into one who loves as you are loved.

